Things are different, again

About two weeks ago I found out that I can finally eat gluten & dairy again.  Although this was very exciting news & so worth celebrating, after only a day, I realized I feel so much better not eating those things that there’s no reason to go back to them, unless it’s for some very special reason!  When I figured this out I really needed some comfort food, again.  So I went to my favorite chicken casserole recipe, and I thought anyone else who could use a little comfort food would enjoy it, also.  Happy cooking! 🙂

Aunt Marilyn’s Chicken Hot Dish  (adapted to fit my lifestyle)

4-5 cups cooked chicken (I always use 5)

2 T. chopped onion

1 cup salad dressing

1 can water chestnuts (chopped)

2 cups chopped celery

1 can cream chicken soup (recipe to follow)

1 cup sliced almonds

crushed corn flakes & 1/2 cup melted butter for the topping

Mix all the ingredients together except the topping.  Place in a 9 by 13 pan.  Cover with corn flakes & melted butter.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 min.

 

Cream of Chicken Soup

2 T butter

2 T gluten free flour (It can be an all purpose or tapioca starch)

pinch of salt

1/2 cup milk substitute (I use soy usually, but any kind will work.  If dairy isn’t an issue, use regular milk)

1/2 cup chicken broth (warmed up with the milk makes it work best)

Melt butter in a heavy saucepan, then sprinkle with the flour & whisk together.  Cook for a couple minutes, whisking the entire time.  Slowly add in the milk and chicken broth.  Bring to a simmer & cook over low heat till thickened.

Leave a comment